The Hurt Business

A Century of the Greatest Writing on Boxing

The  Hurt Business
£16.00 £12.80
Edited by:
Edited by:
Format: Paperback / softback, 518 Pages
ISBN: 9781781311790
Publisher: Aurum Press
Buy from an Online Retailer
We do not sell books through our website in the UK.
Please use the links below to buy from online retailers
UK:
            
CA:
      
AU:
   

Description

From Jack London to Joyce Carol Oates, The Hurt Business is the ultimate boxing book covering a century of the greatest fighter and the writers who have followed 'the sweet science'.

Beginning with Jack London's account of the 1910 championship bout between Jack Johnson and James Jeffries (for which the Call of the Wildman called for and coined the term "The Great White Hope"), and ending with Carlo Rotella's 2002 homage to Larry Holmes ("Champion at Twilight"), The Hurt Business is a near century's worth of rip-roaring reveal. Some of it comes ringside, like Norman Mailer et; some of it comes from the gym, like Pete Hamill's "Up the Stairs with Cus D'Amato"; and some of it comes from so far behind the scenes you feel as if you've been eavesdropping - Thomas Hauser's excerpt from The Black Lights.

For fans of Norman Mailer's The Fight or George Kimball's Four Kings: Leonard, Hagler, Hearns, Duran and the Last Great Era of Boxing, The Hurt Business belongs on the shelves of any fan of boxing or sublime sports writing.

The author

GEORGE KIMBALL is the acclaimed author of Four Kings: Leonard, Hagler, Hearns and Duran and the Last Great Era of BoxingJOHN SCHULIAN is the author of Writers' Fighters and Other Sweet Scientists.Both are recipients of the Nat Fleischer Award for Excellence in Boxing Journalism

GEORGE KIMBALL is the acclaimed author of Four Kings: Leonard, Hagler, Hearns and Duran and the Last Great Era of BoxingJOHN SCHULIAN is the author of Writers' Fighters and Other Sweet Scientists.Both are recipients of the Nat Fleischer Award for Excellence in Boxing Journalism

Reader reviews

Specs

Format: Paperback / softback, 518 Pages
ISBN: 9781781311790
Size: 5.197 in x 7.795 in / 132 mm x 198 mm
Published:

You might also be interested in

Goats of Anarchy Pre-Order Giveaway
Order your copy of Peace, Love, Goats of Anarchy and/or Angel and her Wonderful Wheels by September 30, 2018, and be entered for a chance to win an amazing prize! Fill out the form below to enter. One (10) grand prize winner will receive a Goats of Anarchy Library featuring Goats of Anarchy: One Woman’s Quest to Save ...
Read More >
Make a Pet Bowl Holder Out of a Pallet
Let’s face it, dogs just aren’t tidy eaters. (Well, most aren’t, anyway.) During their happy eating bonanza, water is splashed and drooled onto the floor, bowls are scattered, and paws help spread the mess once the meal is done. Towels and mops are usually involved afterward. Chris Peterson shares a pet bowl holder project in ...
Read More >
The Power of Women – Erika Kotite
Erika Kotite is an editor, writer, and content developer in both print and digital media. Her book, She Sheds, shows women how to create cozy getaways with inspiration from across the country. Find out how the women in her life inspire her below. When I was about 8 years old I discovered the Biography section of my town’s public ...
Read More >
See More Posts